Boulder Chamber names leadership award winners

BOULDER — Judy Amabile, co-owner of Polar Bottle/Product Architects, will receive the Boulder Chamber’s Virginia Patterson Business Person of the Year award next month at the chamber’s 2015 Celebration of Leadership awards event.

Amabile will be recognized for helping turn a family business into a global leader in design and manufacturing of high-tech beverage containers, while helping grow Boulder’s outdoor recreation industry, according to a chamber statement.

Amabile also sits on several boards and organizational leadership committees that build and strengthen the entire community.

The event will be held from 4:30 to 8:30 p.m., Thursday, April 2, at the future home of the Museum of Boulder, 2205 Broadway.

The Celebration of Leadership event recognizes business and community leaders for their creative vision, ingenuity and dedication to enhancing Boulder’s economic vitality and the quality of life for its citizens. The event will be paired with a reception after the awards ceremony, and then several Boulder Arts Week performances. The reception will be catered by A Spice of Life Catering + Events.

“Our honorees have helped shape our community as a whole and pioneered innovation in our businesses,” said John Tayer, president and chief executive of the chamber.

Other winners are:

Industry Leadership Award: Zayo Group. Led by chairman and CEO Dan Caruso since its inception in 2007, Zayo has grown to become a leader in infrastructure bandwidth services, exemplifying Boulder’s spirit of innovation and entrepreneurship. Working with the University of Colorado Boulder and many other local organizations, Zayo is dedicated to promoting entrepreneurship across the Front Range.

Community Leadership Award: Regina Cowles, Nancy Geyer, Deborah Malden, Bob Morehouse, Bill Obermeier, Patrick O’Brien, Richard Polk, and Bob Yates will be recognized for their enthusiastic drive in successfully guiding the 2014 City Ballot Initiative supporting community arts and culture to passage. This group helped build the momentum to ensure Boulder’s cultural scene will thrive into the future.

Chamber Champions Award: Elvira Ramos, program director for the Community Foundation of Boulder County, and Barbara Truan, president of Renaissance Management, a leadership strategies company, will be honored for their dedication to the success of the Boulder County Leadership Fellows Program. Leadership Fellows, a new partnership between the Boulder Chamber and the Community Foundation, provides the tools and inspiration for participants to assume leadership positions across Boulder County.

Franny Reich Local Business Hero Award: Ron Secrist, president of the Boulder Community Health Foundation, will be recognized for guiding BCH through major successful fundraising and redevelopment campaigns, helping it grow into a cutting-edge medical institution. He also continued serving as an adviser on community policies following his tenure as Boulder’s city manager.

Cost of the event is $65 for chamber members and $105 for nonmembers. Register online at