Energy, Utilities & Water  February 27, 2023

Smith, Waskom to receive Pioneer Award

GREELEY — MaryLou Smith and Reagan Waskom will receive the Poudre River Forum’s Poudre Pioneer Award this year.

The award, given in collaboration with the Poudre Runs Through It study/workgroup and the  Cache la Poudre River National Heritage Area, recognizes the recipients’ work helping make the river an example of a healthy working river, the organization said in a press statement.

The award will be presented March 3 at the Poudre River Forum at the University of Northern Colorado in Greeley. 

Smith retired from the position of policy and collaboration specialist at the Colorado State University Water Center. She worked for 10 years convening and facilitating dialogue among stakeholders in conflict over water.

Waskom worked on water-related research, teaching, and extension at CSU for 35 years. During the last 15 years of his career, he served as the director of the Colorado Water Institute and the CSU Water Center and oversaw the CSU Extension water program.

The two founded the Poudre Runs Through It Study Action Work Group in 2012. Soon thereafter, that group launched the annual Poudre River Forum. They also, together with Community Foundation of Northern Colorado, founded Water Literate Leaders of Northern Colorado.Tickets to the event are still available for purchase at the 8th Annual Poudre River Forum.

BizWest Staff

Sign up for BizWest Daily Alerts

Related Content