Election 2019: Loveland incumbents take early leads

LOVELAND — Incumbent Mayor Jacki Marsh led her challengers in all results posted Tuesday night, with more than a thousand votes more than her nearest challenger. 

As of 11:20 p.m., she had 8,870 votes, compared with Dave Clark’s 7,571 and Kathi Wright’s 3,302. 

The race for the mayor’s position pitted the incumbent and local downtown business owner, Marsh, against two members of the current city council.

Marsh, who has often found herself on the losing end of 8-1 votes and who attempted to position herself in the recent campaign as “the people’s mayor,” locked horns repeatedly with other members of the council who she thought were taking the side of developers and big business over that of small business and individual members of the community.

She faced long-time council member Dave Clark and newer council member Kathi Wright. 

Clark, making his second run for the mayor position, is a former contractor and current owner of the Candlelight Dinner Playhouse located in Johnstown near Johnson’s Corner. Clark was first elected to the council in 2003 and served until 2009, when he ran for mayor and lost to Cecil Gutierrez. In 2012, he ran in a special election for his Ward IV seat and continued to serve since that time.

Wright, elected to the Ward II seat on the council in 2017, has lived in the community since 1978. She worked for a number of businesses, including Eastman Kodak Co. and Poudre Valley Hospital. She’s perhaps best known for her work with the Boys & Girls Clubs of Larimer County, where she served as executive director for 18 years.

Incumbents were leading in the council ward races, too.


Ward 1 (two will be elected)

Lenard Larkin — 1,158

Richard Ball, incumbent — 2,224

Robert Molloy — 1,446


Ward II

Andrea Samson — 2,509

Nita Star — 2,535


Ward III

John Fogle, incumbent — 1,650

Elizabeth Hughes — 904

John Dixon — 980


Ward IV

Don Overcash, incumbent — 2,354

Bill Jensen –1,847


Rian Fierros filed for election in Ward IV but withdrew for personal reasons after ballots were printed. Votes cast for Fierros will not be counted, according to the Larimer County Clerk and Recorder.