NCAR researchers win awards, fellowships

BOULDER — Seven researchers at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) won awards and fellowships from the American Meteorological Society.

Fei Chen, an NCAR senior scientist, will receive the Helmut E. Landsberg Award recognizing an individual or team with exemplary contributions to the fields of urban meteorology, climatology or hydrology. Chen is recognized for leading the development of the WRF-Urban Modeling System, as well as for his contributions to researching the interactions between atmosphere and land surface in an attempt to understand urban environmental issues.

Christopher Davis, the director of NCAR's Mesoscale and Microscale Meteorology Laboratory, won the 2019 Joanne Simpson Mentorship Award for his "patient, careful, and supportive mentoring of students" throughout his career.

Hugh Morrison, an NCAR senior scientist and an expert in cloud microphysics and dynamics, will receive the Editor's Award for the Journal of Atmospheric Science "for numerous and insightful reviews in the areas of clouds and convection."

Stan Trier, an NCAR project scientist, won the Editor's Award for the journal Monthly Weather Review "for providing thorough, constructive, and timely reviews of numerous manuscripts." Tier’s research is on thunderstorm clusters, environmental factors influencing the initiation of storms and their daily cycles and the effects of weather systems on aviation turbulence.

There are also fellowship winners.

NCAR scientist and hydrometeorologist David Gochis has been named an AMS Fellow for his outstanding contribution to atmospheric and hydrologic sciences through his career. Gochis is currently the NCAR principal investigator on the WRF-Hydro Modeling System, an open-source community model that predicts streamflow and surface hydrology variables across the continental United States operating as the NOAA National Water Model.

Sue Ellen Haupt, deputy director of NCAR's Research Applications Laboratory and an expert in artificial intelligence and boundary layer meteorology, has been named an AMS Fellow for her significant scientific contributions and leadership in the field. Haupt has held leadership positions with the World Energy and Meteorology Council and the AMS Council and she serves on the AMS Energy Committee.

Rebecca Morss, deputy director of NCAR’s Mesoscale and Microscale Meteorology Laboratory, was also named a new AMS Fellow. Morss is a senior scientist who studies the predictability of weather-related hazards and communication of weather and climate risks. She is recognized for her outstanding research that bridges the fields of atmospheric and social sciences to study hazard information systems.