Lefever elected president of Colorado Corn Administrative Committee

GREELEY — Mike Lefever of Longmont, who farms in eastern Colorado near Haxtun, has been elected president of the Colorado Corn Administrative Committee, an arm of Greeley-based Colorado Corn.

Colorado Corn is made up of the Colorado Corn Growers Association and Colorado Corn Administrative Committee. The association is made up of dues-paying members who are politically active, focusing on policy that impacts corn producers and agriculture in general.

The Colorado Corn Administrative Committee oversees how Colorado’s corn check-off dollars (one penny per bushel of corn produced in the state) are spent on research, market development, outreach, education and other various endeavors.

Lefever takes over for Doug Wilson, who had served in that capacity since the passing of former CCAC president Charlie Bartlett earlier in the year.

“These are our fellow farmers’ dollars, and we absolutely owe it to them to make sure they’re invested wisely in an effort to make the industry better for all producers,” said Lefever, who, in addition to farming, is a retired Longmont firefighter, having served for 35 years. “This is a responsibility the administrative committee has never taken lightly. Every time these dollars are invested, it’s only been done so after thoughtful discussion and a thorough consideration of our commitment to producers. And I guarantee that will continue going forward.”

The CCAC executive committee is rounded out by Troy Schneider of Cope serving as vice president, Kenny Helling of Idalia taking over as secretary, and John Sullivan of Berthoud serving as treasurer.


Start a discussion in the form below.

To participate in commenting, you must enable JavaScript.