Cultural organizations to receive funding

DENVER – Cultural organizations in Boulder and Broomfield counties will receive public funding through the Scientific and Cultural Facilities District that covers seven Denver metro area counties.

The district will distribute $6.3 million to 253 scientific and cultural organizations.

Organizations in Boulder County will receive a total of $554,173.65, and organizations in Broomfield County will receive $139,037.98.

Click here for a list of organizations in Boulder County that are receiving funds, and click here for a list of organizations in Broomfield County.

The district was formed in 1988 following a public vote. Funds come from retail sales- and use-taxes. Counties comprising the district are Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas (except for Castle Rock and Larkspur) and Jefferson.

County commissioners or city council members appoint citizen volunteers to a County Cultural Council to review grant requests and present recommendations to the organization’s board of directors that approves funding. Deborah Malden headed the process for Boulder County, and Kirsty Lockhart led the process for Broomfield County.




Facebook Icon
Twitter Icon
LinkedIn Icon